A Message from the President Accreditation/AQIP Annual Reports Board of Governors Campus MapsCCC: Smoke and Tobacco FreeClery Act StatisticsCollege AdministrationCollege FormsCollege GoalsCollege MissionCollege President's Annual ReportConsumer InformationDownload DocumentsEmergency AlertsEmployee HelpdeskEnrollment ReportGraduate Employment Report History/Structure Injury Prevention Master Facilities PlanNewsletters Office of Institutional Research Online Surplus PC SalePolicies and ProceduresSocioeconomic Impact StudyStudent Policies and ProceduresSustainability
Board of Governors


Central Community College Board of Governors

Central Community College is governed by an 11-member Board of Governors. Two members are elected from each of five election districts. One member is elected at-large. Members are elected to four-year terms with no limit on the number of terms.

(In the following biographies, Professional Affiliations and Awards include both current and past affiliations and awards.)

Counties and precincts included in each election district are shown in this printer friendly PDF file.


District 1

Diane Keller, NCCA Representative
Term Expires: 2014
Employment: Chief Executive Officer, Memorial Community Health Inc., Aurora
Education: Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Master of Health Care Administration
Affiliations and Awards
Hamilton County Leadership Tomorrow Chair
Nebraska Community College Association Board
Heartland Health Alliance
Governor’s Commission on Child Care Financing
Nebraska LEAD Fellow


Paul Krieger
Term Expires: 2016
Employment: Co-owner, Krieger Electric Co.
Education: Bachelor of Science in Math, Master of Business Administration
Affiliations and Awards
Hastings Area Chamber of Commerce Board Chairman
Hastings College Trustee
Hastings Rotary Club

District 2  

Rita Skiles, Chairwoman
Term Expires: 2014
Employment: Self-Employed Advocacy Consultant
Education: Bachelor of Arts in English and School Rehabilitation Counseling
Affiliations and Awards
Region III Developmental Disabilities Council Chairwoman
Cental Region Autism Spectrum Disorder Advisory Member
Nebraska APSE Governing Board
National APSE Advisory Board
Central Nebraska Respite Advisory Board
Wendy Wood National Award
Association of Community Professionals
National High Expectations Award from the Assessment
Training Institute 

 corey burns 3  1-17-13-web

Corey A. Burns
Term Expires:
Employment: Attorney/Mediator at the Law Offices of Glen D. Witte
Education: Bachelor of Arts in English, Arkansas State University; JD, Law, University of Nebraska College of Law
Affiliations and Awards
Nebraska Mediation Association
Former Member, Midwest Nebraska Drug Court Team
First Presbyterian Church of Lexington
Thistle Lodge No. 61 A. F. & A. M.
Plum Creek Players Community Theatre Group

District 3


Dr. Dale Zikmund, Vice Chairman

Term Expires:
Employment: Retired University of Nebraska-Kearney Professor
Education: Bachelor of Science in Agriculture; Master of Science in Agriculture; Doctor of Education in Administration, Curriculum and Instruction;
Affiliations and Awards
American Legion
Golden K Kiwanis
Fleet Reserve Association
Nebraska State Education Association
National Education Association
American Vocational Association


Sandra Borden, Treasurer, NCCA Represetative
Term Expires: 2016
Employment: Nurse Practitioner for Prompt Care Medical Provider
Education: Master's Degree in Nursing, Post Master's Certificate
Affiliations and Awards
Nebraska Nurse Practitioners
Nebraska Pride Chorus of Sweet Adelines International
American College Nurse Practitioners
Outstanding Nurse Practitioner for Nebraska, 2010
American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

District 4


Wayne Sasges
Grand Island
Term Expires:
Employment: Retired
Education: Bachelor of Science Degree
Affiliations and Awards
Goodwill Industries of Greater Nebraska (Past Board Chair)
Grand Island Area Economic Development Corporation (Past Board Chair)
Grand Island Chamber of Commerce (Past Executive Committee Member)
Nebraska State Workforce Investment Board
Nebraska Diplomats


Tom Pirnie
Grand Island
Term Expires: 2016
Employment: President, Grand Island Express
Education: Two Years in Electronics
Affiliations and Awards
GIEDC Vice Chairman
Five Pointe Bank
Nebraska Trucking Association
Truckload Carriers Association
Grand Island Rotary Club (Past President)
Grand Island Dive Rescue Team
Past Chairman, Nebraska Trucking Association 

District 5


Linda Aerni
Term Expires: 2014
Employment: CEO and President, Digital Gaming Solutions; CEO, Community Internet Systems
Education: Associate of Science, Bachelor of Science 
Affiliations and Awards
Nebraska Information Technology Committee Board
Nebraska Commission on The Status of Women
National Association Commissions of Women
2001 Athena Award for Outstanding Women in Business
2004 Central Community College Alumni of the Year
2007 Nebraska State Chamber Leadership Nebraska
NFIP Nebraska Leadership Council
Winning Women, Excellence in Public Service
Columbus Area Chamber Technology Task Force (Past Chairperson)
Columbus Leadership, Alumni and Coordinator
Center for Rural Development and Revitalization Advisory Board
Columbus Area Women's Division (Past President and Board Member)


Dr. Linda Walline
Term Expires: 2016
Employment: Vice President for Nursing, Columbus Community Hospital
Education: Doctor of Philosophy degree, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; master of science in nursing degree, University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing; bachelor of science in nursing degree, Mount Mary College; bachelor of science degree in biology, UNL Teachers College; diploma in nursing, Methodist Hospital Schoolf of Nursing
Affiliations and Awards: Nebraska Organization of Nurse Leaders, American Organization of Nurse Executives, Nebraska Action Coalition, Nebraska Nurses Association, American Nurses Association, Nebraska Rural Health Association, Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing, CCC-Columbus Nursing Advisory Board and Nebraska Wesleyan Nursing Advisory Board, 1991 Athena award for Outstanding Women in Business, 2008 March of Dimes Excellence in Teaching Award.


Sam Cowan, Secretary
Term Expires:
Employment: Retired
Education: Bachelor of Science in Physics and Math
Affiliations and Awards
American Radio League






































































































































































Written by Jim Strayer   
Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 00:54