Skip navigation

Student Organizations

CCC offers many social and academic student organizations.
  • Membership in student organizations can be an important part of college life, both socially and academically. In the list below, the campuses where organizations are available are indicated by: C=Columbus Campus, G=Grand Island Campus, H=Hastings Campus.
  • Purpose

    To give students the opportunity to be directly involved in CCC’s 3C Initiative, meet students across the college, discuss important environmental sustainability topics, and build their resume. 

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all CCC students.

    Group Activities

    1. Discuss important environmental sustainability issues with other students
    2. Learn about current issues and what you can do
    3. Enjoy good food!

    Contact Information

    Go to www.cccneb.edu/yourtalk for more information
    or contact 
    Olivia Whittaker
    Environmental Sustainability Manager
    oliviawhittaker@cccneb.edu
     
    (308) 338-4033

    Purpose

    To increase student involvement and engagement in agricultural systems, working to educate and inform citizens on the importance of agriculture.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all students with an interest in agriculture.  

    Group Activities

    1. Promotes leadership opportunities.
    2. Community service projects.
    3. Educational field trips.

    Contact Information

    Columbus- Wade Hilker, (402) 562-247, wadlonhilker@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    To unite students, faculty, and staff who share a passion for the sport of archery, and share that passion with students and faculty interested in trying archery for the first time; advance the skills and knowledge of all members; and offer a safe, controlled, and accessible shooting environment.

    Membership Conditions

    All CCC students and staff are encouraged to participate.  

    Contact Information

    Dale Long  dlong@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Designed for professional development and greater understanding of the career opportunities in the field of business and entrepreneurship.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to anyone with an interest in the field of business. Must be in good standing with the college.  

    Group Activities

    Provide support and leadership opportunities for students who can benefit from exploring the multitude of career options available in the various business occupations.

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Doris Lux (402) 562-1242, dlux@cccneb.edu
    Hastings
    MaryAnn Bolton (402) 461-2587, mbolton@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Provide an interdenominational ministry committed to helping take the gospel of Jesus Christ to all students.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all students.

    Group Activities

    Group meets each week on campus as a study and discussion group.

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Bob Becker rbecker@cccneb.edu
    Grand Island
    Nick Freelend (308) 398-7417, nfreelend@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Provide opportunities for students working in computer repair and networking for leadership, services, social activities, etc.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all students. 

    Group Activities

    1. Repair used computers for sale and reuse by students and the community.
    2. Various fund-raising events including the annual Columbus Chili Contest.

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Lourdes Herling (402) 562-1212 lourdesherling@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    To give the students the opportunity to experience the hospitality industry and take advantage of different learning styles not available in the regular HMRM lab. They also raise money to use on field trips.

    Membership Conditions

    Must be an HMRM student and be in good standing with the college. 

    Group Activities

    1. Community service activities, serving various functions and groups.
    2. Take field trips, in the past few years they have gone to Las Vegas, Branson and Denver.

    Contact Information

    Hastings 
    Lindsay Higel (402) 461-2460, lhigel@cccneb.edu  
    Courtney Rempe, courtneyrempe@cccneb.edu 
    Rhonda O'Brien, rhondaobrien@cccneb.edu    

    HMCAC Registration Form

    Purpose

    Provides students an opportunity to dance, perform, and support athletic activities.

    Membership Conditions

    Membership is by audition.  

    Group Activities

    The dance team performs dance routines at home athletic contests.

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Brittany Steiner
    402-942-3974
    brittanysteiner@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    To provide performance, leadership, and scholarship opportunities to students through concerts, plays, recitals, one-acts, and musicals.   

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all interested students.  Scholarships, select ensembles, and on-stage roles by audition.  

    Group Activities

    1. Music Ensembles include Spectrum, Hilltop Winds, Concert Band and the College Choir.
    2. Theatre performances include two main stage productions each year, along with other opportunities like student directed one-acts and improv team.

    Contact Information

    Columbus 
    Vocal Music - Jeff Kitson (402) 562-1270, jkitson@cccneb.edu
    Instrumental Music - Micah Crochet (402) 562-1294, micahcrochet@cccneb.edu
    Theatre - Keith Hale (402) 562-1282, keithhale@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    To present to coaches and athletes, and all whom they influence, the challenge and adventure of receiving Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord, serving Him in their relationships and in the fellowship of the church.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all students.  

    Group Activities

    Weekly fellowship with others through athletic competition, bible study, small group discussion and personal connection with a focus on redeeming sports for God's glory

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Nick Kaufmann 402-926-6974,  umcfirstccd@frontier.com

    Purpose

    Intercollegiate activities are provided through the varsity sports:  women’s volleyball, basketball, and softball; men’s basketball, golf, and soccer.

    Membership Conditions

    Must be selected as a team member through individual team tryouts. 

    Group Activities

    Teams compete under the auspices of the National Junior College Athletic Association.

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Jack Gutierrez (402) 562-1234, jgutierrez@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Intramural activities are provided in a variety of intramural and informal sports activities to provide fun activities for students and staff.

    Membership Conditions

    Students and staff are eligible to participate in CCC Intramural activities. 

    Group Activities

    The Intramural Activity Schedule is posted on bulletin boards and includes scheduled activities throughout the year. These activities include sand volleyball, coed volleyball, 4-on-4 basketball, dodge ball, flag football, an annual Elks Golf Tournament, etc.

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Jerry Drymon (402) 562-1428, jerrydrymon@cccneb.edu
    Hastings
    Andrea Hays (402) 461-2486, ahays@cccneb.edu
    Grand Island
    Nick Freelend (308) 398-7417, nfreelend@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    The Media Arts Club helps students further their creative talents and put them to use in a fun and useful way.

    Membership Conditions

    Must be a Media Arts student to join.

    Group Activities

    1. Maintaining the “Black Squirrel”, an online campus newspaper.
    2. Promoting campus activities.
    3. Helping with public design needs.

    Contact Information

    Hastings  
    Drew Ceperley (402) 461-2475, andrewceperley@cccneb.edu
    John Brooks (402) 461-2580, jbrooks@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    To promote diversity and harmony at CCC.

    Membership Conditions

    All CCC students and staff are encouraged to participate.  

    Group Activities

    1. Sponsorship of student activities.
    2. Participation in student recruitment and outreach events.
    3. Fund raising for program and student projects.

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Kristin Hoesing (402) 562-1296, khoesing@cccneb.edu 
    Grand Island 
    Maria Lopez (308) 398-7427, mlopez@cccneb.edu 
    Nancy Reese (308) 398-7339, nreese@cccneb.edu  
    Hastings 
    Maria Lopez (308) 398-7427 mlopez@cccneb.edu 
    Tara Bialas (402) 461-2472, thofstetter@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Offers students the opportunity to participate in empowering, skill building leadership activities as well as be the voice of student ideas, concerns and suggestions to administration and the rest of the campus.

    Membership Conditions

    Students will be invited based on being at least part time status, 2.5 GPA and must pay $85 to begin the process to becoming an inducted member.

    Students must attend Orientation, Leadership Training Day, at least three National Speaker Broadcasts and at least three Small Networking Team meetings to become an inducted member.

    Group Activities

    1. Host the National Speaker Broadcast series for the public
    2. Organize the on-campus Food and Hygiene Pantry
    3. Organize a 5k run
    4. Organize trash pick up
    5. Serve as student representatives on various campus committees
    6. Organize holiday toy drives
    7. Organize blood drives

    Contact Information

    Columbus Chapter
    Krynn Larson, (402) 562- 1422, klarsen@cccneb.edu
    Grand Island Chapter
    Meghan May, (308) 398-7436, meghanmay@cccneb.edu
    Hastings Chapter
    Erika Wolfe, (402) 461-2551, erikawolfe@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate to exchange ideas, and ideals for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

    Membership Conditions

    Complete 12 credits hours with a GPA of 3.5 or above. Must maintain a 3.25 GPA to maintain membership.  

    Group Activities

    1. Bloodmobile
    2. Big Brothers/Big Sisters Easter Egg Hunt
    3. America’s Promise/Dr. Seuss’ Birthday Read
    4. Recycling Projects.

    Contact Information

    Columbus Chi Sigma Chapter
    Rosie Heinisch, (402) 562-1423, rheinisch@cccneb.edu
    Grand Island Alpha Tau Tau Chapter
    Amy Osburn, (308) 398-7550, aosburn@cccneb.edu
    Hastings Beta Alpha Delta Chapter
    Lydia Lough, (402)-461-2573, lydialough@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Provides training in leadership and personal skills such as dependability, teamwork, communications and customer relations and to gain a positive image through competition, leadership development and service projects.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all CCC students who are in good standing in their program of skills.   

    Group Activities

    1. Promotes leadership activities.
    2. Develop positive rapport with industry leaders. 

    Contact Information

    Columbus 
    Leon Finecy (402) 562-1220, lfinecy@cccneb.edu 
    Hastings 
    Reba Skalka (402) 461-2481, rskalka@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Provides an alternative for students who do not participate in the Judeo-Christian tradition; promotes the pursuit of knowledge through reason rather than faith.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all students.

    Group Activities

    Group meets on campus as a study and discussion group.

    Contact Information

    Hastings
    Dr. Robin Buckallew (402) 461-2492, rbuckallew@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    This group plans special and social events for the campus.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to any student that is in good standing with the college. 

    Group Activities

    A representative is part of the Campus committee structure as a spokesperson voicing student ideas, concerns, and suggestions.

    Contact Information

    Hastings
    Andrea Hays (402) 461-2486, ahays@cccneb.edu
    Grand Island
    Nick Freelend (308) 398-7417, nfreelend@cccneb.edu
    Columbus 
    Heidi Acton heidiacton@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    To achieve autonomy of Dental Hygiene education, licensure and practice and to promote oral health care as part of total health.

    Membership Conditions

    Must be accepted in the Dental Hygiene program at CCC.  

    Group Activities

    1. Attend state and local dental hygienist’s meetings.
    2. Attend student/faculty workshops.
    3. Fund-raising for the organization.
    4. Promote National Dental Hygiene month.

    Contact Information

    Hastings
    Wanda Cloet (402) 461-2470, wcloet@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    Provides support and leadership opportunities for students who have disabilities or are disadvantaged to enhance their potential for academic and career success.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to CCC students who are chosen as TRiO/SSS participants.

    Group Activities

    1. Sponsors community service socialization and information sharing opportunities.
    2. Orientation each August for new students.
    3. Support services including special accommodations, advocacy, progress monitoring, counseling, tutoring and other services.

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Shelley Frear (402) 562-1447, shelleyfrear@cccneb.edu 
    Grand Island  
    AJ Hodtwalker (308) 461-7529, alissahodtwalker@cccneb.edu 
    Hastings
    Tara Bialas (402) 461-2472, thofstetter@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    From speaking, presentations to general conversations, Toastmasters will strengthen your communication skills and boost your confidence.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all students interested in improving speaking skills.  

    Group Activities

    1. Builds confidence
    2. Supportive environment
    3. Networking & leadership

    Contact Information

    Grand Island
    Mark McCaffery (308) 398-7486, mmcaffery@cccneb.edu

    Purpose

    The club links Veterans, service members and their supporters from all branches of the US Armed Forces who have served during times of peace and during times of war. The purpose of the clubs shall be to advocate on their behalf at CCC and beyond. Create a network of students to provide and enhance professional and leadership development through community learning.

    Membership Conditions

    Open to all students at CCC to include Student Veterans, Active Duty, Reservist, National Guard, and dependents.

    Group Activities

    1. Sponsorship of Veteran student activities.
    2. Participation in student recruitment and outreach events.
    3. Fund raising for program, student projects, and leadership retreats.
    4. Community service and outreach.
    5. Host Veteran’s Day and Memorial Day events on each campus.

    For more information go to the student veteran organizations page

    Contact Information

    Columbus
    Sarah Woehl (402) 562-1436, sarahwoehl@cccneb.edu 
    Grand Island  
    Travis Karr (308) 398-7376, tkarr@cccneb.edu 
    Liz Luna (308) 398-7413, lluna@cccneb.edu 
    Hastings
    Ashely Allen (402) 460-2137, ashelyallen@cccneb.edu

  • For more information, view the student activities calendar or contact:

    • Columbus Campus
      Heidi Acton
      (402) 562-1209
      heidiacton@cccneb.edu
    • Grand Island Campus
      Nick Freelend
      (308) 398-7417
      nfreelend@cccneb.edu
    • Hastings Campus
      Andrea Hays
      (402) 461-2486
      ahays@cccneb.edu